RSS

FTM=First Time Mom=Always Something To Do (ASTD)

04 Mar

I am definitely not very savvy with the social media and texting short-hand. I think I do good to remember LOL and OMG.  BTW, when I got pg after giving up on TTC and bbt charting, I learned a whole new short-hand language.

Wow… no, that really is the word ‘wow.’  Who knew there were so many ways to speak or write/text/bulletin board post? But really, I digress from the topic: ASTD (no, not a STD …which I think is becoming known as a STI these days), which is my own way of saying that as a FTM, there is always something to do. AND it always takes longer to do anything and everything. All the moms know what I mean.  All the FTMs REALLY know what I mean.

I heard all this before my son arrived on the scene: Your life changes; You don’t just run to the store; It takes longer to get ready to go out so we just don’t…and you won’t either; Forget going to the movies, rent the video; Laundry is never done and the house never clean.

Until I had BTDT, it was hard to imagine having a nice dinner w/ some friends and leaving almost a full carafe of wine to go home and put our cranky-cuz-he-didn’t-nap-today in bed. Of course, once he was asleep, I got up and did a load of laundry.

Emptying the dishwasher can take four hours. I start. Baby cries. Has pooped the diaper and it ran out the leg elastic so his clothes AND his bedding all now need to be changed. Round up additional items to make a full load of laundry and throw it in the wash. Now baby needs to be fed. Burped. Laundry in wash is ready for dryer. Load in dryer gets moved to the bed. Wait, have to make the bed. Then move laundry then fold laundry. Baby needs changing again. What was I doing? Oh, yeah. Laundry. Fold load on the bed. Put it all away. Walking past the open dishwasher to put away kitchen towels, I whack my leg. OUCH! Oh, yeah, still need to finish putting away the dishes.

This post would have taken about 30 minutes…before I became a FTM. But now there’s ASTD.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “FTM=First Time Mom=Always Something To Do (ASTD)

  1. Mom

    March 9, 2013 at 3:37 PM

    Oh, just wait, it gets better…:o) All too soon over…..

     
  2. Henrieta Riesco

    March 6, 2013 at 9:57 AM

    I had no idea that BTDT means Been There, Done That. But yes, BTDT and I can very much find myself in this article 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
