RSS

I Live In A VAN DOWN BY THE RIVER!

16 Mar

Ok, so this is not an SNL skit…and I am not Chris Farley.  And it’s not really a van. It’s a fifth-wheel RV.  And it’s not a river…more like a dry creek bed or a low spot in the earth, really.

But I am here just the same. What I call the next evolution.  My husband and I are on the hunt for our next home after having sold ours when it was buried under four feet of snow in December.  Moving day arrived yesterday and we still haven’t found our next home. So, we are on an extended camping trip…at an RV park in Western Washington.

The stories of this time in our lives will be fun to tell my son as he grows up. It will become part of the history, the lore of our family.  I can see now that those stories will be like fisherman’s stories and ‘the one that got away that was this big’ kind of stories.”Remember that time when we lived in the RV…” (*cough* I mean, in a van down by the river)?

Isn’t that part of the fun of being a family? The shared history and stories? They color our lives and mould us.  There will always be sad chapters because we can’t control things like death. But we can control how we weave that kind of loss into the overall story. Like living in an RV park… it could be a WTH kind of chapter or it could be a LOL kind of chapter. 

I am going with LOL! I mean, if you’ve seen the Chris Farley skit, who doesn’t laugh when he says: “….IN A VAN DOWN BY THE RIVER!!!”? 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
