RSS

My Vows

19 Mar

Son, 

Before you were born … about two weeks before your birth, actually, your dad and I got married. We didn’t need a piece of paper to cement our commitment to each other because that existed in our hearts already.  I had been telling him for years that he was “stuck with me.”  I think he may finally believe me. 

In any case, I want you to know what I promised him when I married him. He deserves this promise because he is an honorable man and a good person. He is my best friend and I respect him. He’s a great dad and an example for you to follow as you grow.

I hope that you find a partner in life, someone to whom you can write your own vows….

Here’s what I said to your dad the day we wed:

…to be your best friend

…to hold your dreams as sacred as I hold my own

…to have your back at all times

…to treat you with kindness and respect, even if I am angry

…to share my feelings even if it might upset you

…to give you space when you need it

…to listen to you with an open heart and mind

…to be strong when you feel weak 

…to walk beside you, never too far in front or too far behind

…to never give up on you or us

…to love you when you feel or act unlovable

…to cut you some slack when you need it

…to accept your help when I need it

…to laugh with you every day we are together

…to believe in you

…to love you

…to trust you

…to spend the rest of your life with you

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
