RSS

The First…

25 Mar
4 months old at his first campfire.

4 months old at his first campfire.

I am learning that with a baby there are many firsts… some I will capture digitally (because who has film these days?) and some I will only capture in my memory… Like the new favorite noises and faces he makes. The latest of which is scrunching up his nose, pursing and pouting out his lips and breathing in and out through his mouth hard and fast. If only I was fast enough to capture that one.
I try not to worry about all the other firsts over which I will have no control… ones that will hurt him. His first skinned knee, his first broken heart. And I wonder how I will react when he throws his first REAL tantrum, says his first swear word.
This whole mommy journey is an amazing first for me. And it is not for the faint of heart; it calls for equal measures of patience and humor. Did I mention patience?
From my son’s first breath right up to my last, we will face more “firsts” than I can imagine…I hope most are like that first campfire… Snapping and crackling with fun, memory-making warmth.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The First…

  1. Mom

    March 28, 2013 at 8:23 AM

    My two most favorite people in the world…. :o) BTDT Love, Mom

     
  2. lori nowaczyk

    March 25, 2013 at 7:54 AM

    beautiful and well said! words spoken from the heart of a mother.

     

Leave a Reply

 
