RSS

The Tears Poem

11 Apr

I wrote this poem when I was trying to conceive. And every month that passed that I wasn’t pregnant, I felt worse. I felt a sadness that that seemed to come from a deep, primal place in me that I never knew existed.  

The Tears Poem

Sometimes – whatever it is
has to come out in tears
because there are
no words
big enough or
true enough

Sometimes – whatever it is
sticks in the bone marrow
held by the DNA wounds
of childhood & youth…
just when we think we are healed
a scratch can start a gusher

Sometimes – whatever it is
steals our oxygen and all our
bright moments
and we are left in the dark
gasping for air
it obscures our light-bearers
holding flames to shine the path
beneath our feet

Sometimes – whatever it is
has to come out in tears
because there are
no words.
~annie~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 11, 2013 in Poetry

 

Leave a Reply

 
