RSS

Self-Discipline

15 Apr

I have nothing to write, nothing to say. OR I have so many ideas, I don’t know where to start. So I won’t.

Self-discipline means doing that thing – whatever “thing” it is – when you don’t feel like it or don’t want to do it or don’t know where to start. Right this moment, for me, that “thing” is writing. Specifically, it is writing here, now, this blog. Like so many bloggers and authors before me, I am actually writing about writing. Or maybe I am writing about self-discipline.

Today I didn’t know where to start. Then I thought of a quote I posted on Facebook. “Now that it’s all over, what did you really do yesterday that’s worth mentioning?” by Coleman Cox. So tomorrow morning when I look back at today I will be able to say I wrote. May not be my best work, or the most viewed blog. But that’s ok. Today’s lesson for me is not what I actually write it’s that I actually wrote.

A few posts back I wrote about living life from a happier state of being. This spring season is about blossoming in a few key areas in my life. I found that being positive takes discipline. Writing regularly takes the same. I often say to clients that “we do last that thing we most love to do.” And yet, we are so much happier, more at peace with ourselves when we take the time to do what we love; when we do that which feeds our heart and soul and body.

Tomorrow morning it will be worth mentioning that I had the discipline to write today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2013 in Lessons Learned

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
