RSS

Laundry-Mat

15 May

The washer/dryer unit in our van down by the river, the one I JUST HAD to have, is great. But small. And is just one machine. Really. The washer becomes the dryer at the end of the washing cycle. It’s called a Splendide.  And it really is splendid. One load takes 2.85 days. Ok, maybe it only takes a day and a half.

So I am grateful this RV park has a coin-operated laundry facility. Reminds me of life at Smith College. Without the college students. And people are way better about getting their laundry moved through … except for me…when the baby is napping. I have a crisis: uh, risk the laundry being left for too long and then moved by the next launderer because the baby is sleeping or dare to run to the laundry room while he’s asleep. I let the laundry fall where it may and stay with the kid, of course.

RV-ers are lazy, like college students (and if you are a college student who ISN’T lazy, that’s good, you are the exception to the rule so don’t take offense). Apparently laundering is best done in the early morning. I never see anyone stirring around much before 10 am… that’s when the rush for machines kicks up. But I always panic that the park attendants will come by w/ my wet laundry and a citation for lazy laundering. It has yet to happen. We all fear something, right?

Well…the baby just woke up and I finally scrounged one more quarter from the couch cushions to pay for the next load.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
