RSS

For My Husband on His First Father’s Day

13 Jun

Dear Steve,

IMG_0546

Long before you held your son for the very first time, I knew you were a man worthy of having one. I watched you with children not your own and saw the depth of your heart, the strength of your character and the sweetness of your soul.

When I saw you hold your son for the first time, tears in your eyes, I watched you gingerly cradle your whole world.  When you kissed him for the first time and breathed deep his baby smell, I saw that part of you that misses your own father, begin to truly heal.

You will teach your son not by telling him but by showing him how to be a good man, how to be his own man.  You will guide him, giving him a lot of lead line to find his own way and reel him in when the waters get way too rough.  As you find your footing with this new role – fatherhood – my heart sees your joy, your pride, your worry, your daddy-ness.  Your love shines straight into his little heart and your son reflects that back in the way he smiles at you.

On your first Father’s Day, my husband, know you are good.

Love,
Annie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “For My Husband on His First Father’s Day

  1. Steve

    June 13, 2013 at 9:27 AM

    Annie,
    your words are beautiful and make my eyes water, I LOVE YOU.

    Thank You,
    XOXOXOXOOXO

     
    • Annie

      June 13, 2013 at 10:57 AM

      You are welcome!

       

Leave a Reply

 
