RSS

Put One Foot In Front Of The Other…

17 Dec

…and soon you’ll be walking ‘cross the floor. Put one foot in front of theQuad riding other, and soon you’ll be walking out the door. ~ This is a line from a song in the Santa Claus cartoon movie that most everyone my age grew up watching every Christmas.

The Winter Warlock learns how to be kind … one step at a time.

I was watching this video the other night as my son took his first steps. It was so amazing to watch him stand straight up, not hold onto anything, look around in amazement and then take off. And then bam! All fours hit the floor. He was so excited, he got right back up and went again. And again. And again.

And just like that, he’s begun his real first steps toward independence. There are going to be so many more falls..physical and otherwise, as he navigates the world. And I know that each time he falls, I will want to scoop him into my arms, and hold him tight, hoping to make it all better. But, like I did the other night, I am going to have to hold back and let him do it on his own, let him figure it out. I will cheer him on, telling him he can do it and that I am proud of him.

What an honor to help this little human being.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2013 in Motherhood

 

Leave a Reply

 
