For Steve – on the Death of his Mom

…my mother-in-law passed away on October 1, 2018.
My husband was with her during

IMG_0420
Doris and Steven Ricci 2017

her last days and there for her last breath.  He shared with me his experiences and his precious moments of that time.  I crafted this poem for him and he read it at her memorial service.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You smiled with love and held onto my face.

We chatted about everyone and every place.

You came in and out, not always quite there.

I watched over you and gently stroked your hair.

They were both easy and hard, those last few days.

When you called me “little asshole”, I knew you were okay.

We laughed and we cried and we hugged and we kissed.

I held on to each moment even as I felt my world shift.

I felt the change take over your breath.

And my heart thudded like stone in my chest.

I held your thin and lovely face in my hands.

And I kissed it with all the love that I had.

I saw you. Mother. Friend. Woman. Wife.

I felt the dignity you had every day of your life.

I thanked you and told you we would all be okay.

I said we would miss you but that you could go today.

Go and be with Daddy, and Papa, and Non.

Go.  And know that you were the very best mom.

~annie ricci~

Leave a comment